The GTES Board

Our company is an unlisted public company limited by guarantee.  The Board of Directors are all volunteers drawn from the community.  The Directors are people with a passion for the care and training of people who desire a career with formal qualifications.

Displaying 010 - Copy.JPG


Alan Sharp - Director

Alan was appointed to the Board in November 2013.

He has spent most of his career in the education industry. He trained as a teacher and has held many positions at all levels of the NSW school system. He holds tertiary degrees in education and has completed a range of management qualifications.

Alan has also been involved in local government as a councillor and has been active at a senior level in a licensed club.

He has worked in many locations in the state and had an active involvement in the community through service clubs and sporting organisations.

Alan retired as a Director of Schools based in Broken Hill.

He is presently involved in Ronald McDonald House, Micah House and Rotary.

Malcolm Nixon – Director

Malcolm has been a GTES Director since 2001 with the years 2004 & 2005 spent as a former Chairman. Malcolm holds recognised qualifications with the Society of Automotive Engineers and the Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers and the scope of his knowledge has been utilised on a number of Boards including the Wagga Wagga Chamber of Commerce and Kurrajong Waratah. Malcolm is the Managing Director of Nixons Engineering, which has grown to become an industry leader in regional Australia.


Displaying ScanImage001 AB.bmp




Alan Brown – Secretary

Alan is a current Councillor with Wagga Wagga City Council and was appointed to the Board of GTES in March 2013. Alan is also a farmer, trainer and agricultural consultant based in Wagga Wagga NSW.

Alan holds a Degree in Applied Science and a TAE. He is presently studying to complete a Diploma in Vocational Education and Training.

Alan has a farm at Borambola and is employed as Head Trainer for Chemcert Training Group. He also works as an agricultural consultant for Agribusiness Consulting Group. Alan has extensive board and lobbying experience and has worked in the training area for many years at TAFE and for private training providers.

Alan is also a Group and Brigade Captain with NSW Rural Fire Service.

Bernard Dempsey – Director

Bernard has been a GTES Director since 2001 and the Company utilises his knowledge of sound business principles, gained from his experiences with General Electric Company in the U.K., as a former senior manager with Transgrid and with Ewbank Preece Consulting Engineers, to assist GTES with strategic planning and governance issues amongst others. Bernard has a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering from the University of Sydney along with various management qualifications. He has been involved with the Home of Compassion Board during the expansion of the Home and is a member of ErinEarth Management Committee. He is now retired and living in Wagga Wagga.

Lindsay Vidler – Director

Lindsay has been a GTES Director since 2004. Lindsay has been heavily involved in the automotive industry ever since completing an Automotive Engineering qualification upon leaving school. Lindsay’s experiences as both an employer and a tireless worker for the community have proven invaluable for GTES. Amongst others Lindsay has been a past President for the Wagga Wagga City Speedway Club, Member of Wagga Wagga TAFE Advisory Committee, Chairman of ACT/NSW Motor Racing Board, Chairman of the National Association of Speedway Racing, Chairman of the Wagga Wagga Urban Landcare Group, Member & Governing Councillor for MTA NSW, Member of the Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers, Member & former Chairman of Riverina Water County Council and many more. Lindsay was elected to Wagga Wagga City Council in 1991 and was Deputy Mayor at one stage before retiring from Council in 2012.

Fred Loneragan - Director

Fred has been a GTES Director since 2005. A retired senior member of the NSW Police Force, Fred has always strongly believed in getting the best out of people and the creation of fair and equitable outcomes for all members of the community, regardless of their background. His attitude and experiences resulted in his appointment as CEO of the Wagga Wagga Police Community Youth Club from 1976 until his retirement from the Police Force in 2000. Fred has a major involvement in Rotary at a local and international level and is a past District Governor as well as being involved at Board level in many other organisations including The Riverina Aquathon Association, Wagga Wagga Compact, St Michaels Regional High School, Turvey Park Australian Rules Football Club, NSW Senate Standing Committee on Education and many others.

Kerry Pascoe - Chairman

Councillor Kerry Pascoe is the current GTES Chairman, having been elected at the 2013 AGM after joining our Board in 2011. Kerry is a very well known member of the community through his formal association with the City of Wagga. Kerry was first elected to Council in 2004 and has served continually since that date. He was elected Mayor in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011. Cr Pascoe is a member of the following Council Committees:

  • Commercial and Economic Standing Committee (Chairperson)
  • Environment & Community Standing Committee
  • Corporate Governance Standing Committee (Alternate Member)
  • Honours Committee
Other organisations and committees or Boards that Kerry is involved with include: Country Hope, Australian Livestock Markets Association, Australia Day Committee, Eastern Riverina Noxious Weeds Committee, Lake Albert Community Committee, Riverina Conservatorium, Riverina Regional Libraries and Wagga Wagga Tidy Towns.
Displaying ScanImage001 AB.bmp

Shannon Pennicott

Shannon Pennicott is an experienced Litigation solicitor admitted to legal practice in 2005.

Shannon is a graduate of both the  University of Tasmania and the Australian National University graduating with a Bachelor of Arts (Political Science) and Bachelor of Laws and a Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice.

Shannon lived in Wagga Wagga from 2007.  She practiced law in NSW with a private firm from 2008 and quickly became a well respected and reputable Senior Associate heading up their Litigation team. Shannon now operates her own private law practice serving both the Riverina and the ACT.